The CSRN™ program from Healthy Visions 10 CE contact hours on the certification course Approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing, Provider #CEP 17185 Certifying sedation nurses since 2015

State Compliance Guide

Moderate Sedation Requirements in Oregon

Oregon’s sedation guidance is a nine-page Oregon State Board of Nursing document that describes itself as a guide: “This guide outlines the nursing scope of practice for the use of sedating and anesthetic agents” (p. 1). Its requirements are nonetheless written in must — thirty-one times across nine pages — while shall does not appear at all. It runs from anxiolysis to general anesthesia, licence by licence, and it permits RNs and APRNs to give anesthetic agents for procedural sedation on stated conditions.

Oregon at a glance

Board Oregon State Board of Nursing (OSBN)
Document “Nursing Scope of Practice for the Use of Sedating and Anesthetic Agents” (p. 1) — nine-page PDF served under a file name marked September 2024; page numbers here refer to it.
Rule it is None. It is not a numbered rule and applies none — no Oregon Administrative Rule or statute is cited anywhere in it; its only regulatory citations are federal — CMS “§482. 22(c)(6)” and “§482.52(a)” (p. 3, spacing as printed).
Status Board guidance. It calls itself a “guide”, “this policy” (p. 1) and “The interpretive statement” (p. 8). It nowhere states its own legal force — only its purpose, “to provide information to licensees who seek to engage in safe nursing practice” (p. 1). Only four sentences use “should” — the airway policy and airway manager’s skill (p. 2), the patient-record entry and the written protocols (p. 4).
Dates “10/1/2024” in every page header (pp. 1–9). No adoption, revision, review or effective date is stated anywhere in it.
Who it covers The four nursing categories the guide names — LPNs, RNs, APRNs and CRNAs. For anxiolysis, “LPNs, RNs, and APRNs are permitted to administer sedating agents for anxiolysis under appropriate guidelines” (p. 1). For moderate sedation, “RNs and APRNs are permitted to administer sedating and anesthetic agent to achieve moderate procedural sedation, and to provide sedation for both non-intubated and intubated/ventilated patients” (p. 1, as printed), and that administration “must occur under the direction of a Licensed Independent Practitioner (LIP)” (p. 1).
Who it does not cover CRNAs sit outside its education-and-competency requirement, written for “Nurses who are not Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs)” (p. 1); general anesthesia is theirs (p. 2). LPNs are covered but confined to anxiolysis (p. 1). One purpose is refused outright: “No, the RN may not administer anesthetic agents for anxiolysis” (p. 8). Unlicensed and assistive personnel are not mentioned, and there is no delegation language.
Settings the document names Adults classed ASA I–III may be sedated by a nurse “in acute care, clinic, or office settings, provided that all criteria in this policy are met” (p. 2); pediatric patients classed ASA I–II, in “acute care, office, or clinic settings” (p. 3). For an adult classed ASA IV, or a child classed ASA III or IV, acute care is the only setting the guide allows (pp. 2–3), and a CRNA or credentialed LIP “must be consulted to determine the appropriate setting and necessary personnel resources” (p. 3). Both bullets stop at Class IV, although the appendix defines Class V (p. 6).
Re-verification interval Not stated. No renewal period, expiry or review cycle appears anywhere in the guide — renew, annual, interval and year are not in its text. The interval is your own policy’s.
Where the record lives Practice setting: “Written, medically approved policies and protocols must be readily available and accessible” (p. 4). Patient chart: “documented communication and response should be recorded in patient record” (p. 4). Where the individual nurse’s education and competency record is kept, the guide does not say.
CE hours Not stated. No contact-hour count appears, and the guide sets no continuing-education requirement — the phrase continuing education is not in it. It specifies content and certification instead: seven knowledge-and-skills areas (pp. 3–4), and “Competence and certification in airway management, arrhythmia recognition, and resuscitation” (p. 4), supported by ACLS, PALS if working with pediatrics and NRP if working with newborns (p. 4).

What the Oregon State Board of Nursing says

The operative requirements sit under “Practice Guidelines and Competencies” (pp. 3–6). Section A carries the education requirement: “Before administering sedating and anesthetic agents, the nurse must gain and demonstrate the following knowledge and skills across the lifespan, which must be documented through education, training, experience, and ongoing competency” (p. 3). The seven areas are anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, physiological measurement, nursing interventions, emergency preparedness, patient assessment, and applying the ASA classification (pp. 3–4). Section D requires personnel “capable of rescuing the patient if sedation progresses deeper than intended” (p. 4); Section E, patent IV access until recovery and continuous monitoring including “End Tidal Carbon Dioxide (moderate and deep sedation)” and “Intermittent blood pressure (a minimum every 5 minutes), heart rate, and respiratory rate” (p. 5).

The requirement a nurse manager’s education file has to answer sits on the first page:

“Nurses who are not Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs) must receive additional documented education and demonstrate specific documented competencies before administering pharmacologic agents for sedation.”

Oregon State Board of Nursing — sedation scope-of-practice guide (p. 1)

Read the primary source →

What an Oregon facility should be able to show

Read as an audit list, the guide asks for three things:

  1. Written, medically approved sedation policies and protocols — “readily available and accessible” (p. 4) is a must; their contents are advice, protocols that “should include” six named subjects (p. 4). With them, the written risk-management, continued-competency and quality-improvement plan, which “must be in place” (p. 4).
  2. Per-nurse evidence of the additional documented education (p. 1) across the seven knowledge-and-skills areas (pp. 3–4), for every nurse who is not a CRNA and who administers moderate sedation — the guide keys that requirement to administering, “before administering pharmacologic agents for sedation” (p. 1).
  3. Per-nurse evidence of demonstrated competency in moderate sedation, documented “through education, training, experience, and ongoing competency” (p. 3), on an interval your own policy names — the guide sets none.

The CSRN™ course — 10 CE contact hours developed and delivered by Capt. M. Ron Eslinger, CRNA, with module exams, case studies and a certificate ID your credentialing office can verify — is built to be records 2 and 3 on that list. Facility seats and roster tracking →

Questions Oregon facilities ask

How often does Oregon want sedation competency re-verified?

The guide sets no interval. It requires competency documented “through education, training, experience, and ongoing competency” (p. 3) and a written continued-competency plan at the setting (p. 4), but attaches no period to either, and no renewal, expiry or review cycle appears anywhere in its nine pages.

Does the guide require the CSRN™ course specifically?

No — it requires no particular course, and no state mandates this specific one. What it requires is “additional documented education” and “specific documented competencies” (p. 1) covering seven named subject areas (pp. 3–4), with no provider, hour count, approval body or course name attached. The only courses it names — ACLS, PALS and NRP (p. 4) — sit beside the sedation education, not in place of it. CSRN™ is designed to be that documented education and assessed competency for moderate sedation.

Can the Oregon nurse monitoring sedation take on other tasks?

The guide writes that limit for one situation, with a qualifier. Under Special Circumstances, for emergency intubation, “The nurse must not leave the patient unattended or perform other tasks that compromise monitoring” (p. 5) — tasks that compromise monitoring, narrower than no tasks at all. For moderate procedural sedation it states no equivalent sentence about the nurse; it does require the nurse to monitor continuously “during the procedure and recovery phase” (p. 5), and says the practitioner directing the case “may not simultaneously serve as the person monitoring the patient or monitoring the airway intra-procedure” (p. 5). Your own policy has to supply any dedicated-monitor rule for moderate sedation, in the written protocols the guide requires (p. 4).


Compliance note (last reviewed September 2026): This page is educational information about the Oregon State Board of Nursing guide Nursing Scope of Practice for the Use of Sedating and Anesthetic Agents, not legal advice or a compliance determination. Every quotation was checked word-for-word against the banked extract of the Board’s nine-page PDF on 2026-09-02, when the live file matched that extract byte for byte and was still listed on the Board’s interpretive-statements index. Board typographical and spacing errors inside quotation marks are reproduced as printed. The findings above — no interval, no CE hours, no stated legal force and no course named for the sedation education itself — are statements about this document, not about every Oregon agency; facility licensure and other regulators set requirements of their own, outside this page’s scope. The guide carries no revision history; confirm the current file and your own facility policy before relying on this summary. No state mandates this specific course.

← Moderate sedation requirements, state by state

More state guides

Washington · California · Idaho · All states →

Get your team’s competency documented

Tell us your headcount and timeline — we’ll send exact pricing within one business day.

Request a Quote

Certifying yourself? Enroll — $279.99 Renew — $249.95