The Idaho Board of Nursing’s rule chapter does not mention sedation, and that absence is the finding. IDAPA 24.34.01, Rules of the Idaho Board of Nursing, governs “the standards of nursing practice, licensure, educational programs and discipline in Idaho” (p. 3); the word sedation never occurs in it, and anesthesia appears in only two provisions, the CRNA definition (p. 3) and the protected title abbreviations (p. 5). Everything below about Idaho law comes from that chapter.
Idaho at a glance
| Board | Idaho Board of Nursing, in the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (p. 1). |
| Document | IDAPA 24.34.01, Rules of the Idaho Board of Nursing, as published in the Idaho Administrative Code (PDF, 18 pp.; page numbers refer to it) — a general rule chapter, not a sedation document. This review found no sedation-specific rule, policy or guidance published by the Board (checked 2026-09-02). |
| Rule it is | It is the rule: nine substantive sections, 000 through 400, none addressing sedation (p. 2). The decision-making model is Subsection 200.01 (p. 12), not Section 400, the fee schedule (p. 17). |
| Status | Binding administrative rule, not advisory: “This chapter is adopted in accordance with Section 54-1404(13), Idaho Code” (p. 3). That force does not reach sedation, which the chapter never addresses; on this question it binds an Idaho nurse only to the general test in Section 200. |
| Dates | Effective stamp (3-28-23) on 222 provisions; only Section 400’s two fee subsections carry (7-1-26) (pp. 17–18). The chapter “will be reviewed in compliance with Section 67-5292, Idaho Code” (p. 1). |
| Who it covers | Registrants and licensees of the Board (p. 1): LPNs, RNs, APRNs (p. 5) and the “Medication Assistant – Certified” the fee schedule carries as a fourth licence column (p. 18). The model “applies to all licensure categories permitting active practice, regardless of practice setting” (p. 12). Unlicensed assistive personnel are reached indirectly, through the delegating nurse (pp. 5, 13). |
| Who it does not cover | Not stated for sedation — the chapter attaches no sedation-specific exclusion to anyone, because it does not address sedation. The general lines it draws are not sedation lines: LPNs “function in dependent roles” (p. 4); UAPs may not be delegated acts requiring nursing assessment or diagnosis, establishment of a plan of care or teaching, the exercise of nursing judgment, or “procedures requiring specialized nursing knowledge, skills or techniques” (p. 5). |
| Settings the document names | None by type: hospital, ambulatory, surgical and endoscopy appear nowhere. Settings appear only in the abstract (“regardless of practice setting”, p. 12), plus one employer category, the “Board approved health care agency” employing a nurse apprentice (p. 6). |
| Re-verification interval | Not stated — no re-check interval for any clinical skill. The recurring dates it sets for a nurse’s licence: an RN or LPN renewal application “not later than August 31 of the appropriate renewal year” (p. 6), and an APRN licence renewable “every two (2) years” (p. 9). |
| Where the record lives | Not stated. A nurse relying on criterion iii must be able to “document successful completion of additional education” (p. 12), but the chapter names no file, custodian or retention period. Its only competency-documentation duty falls on the APRN (“must document competency within their specialty area of practice”, p. 15). Subsection 200.03.e, “Record-keeping” (p. 14), binds every nurse to keep accurate entries in records mandated by law or customary practice, but creates no competency record and names no place to keep one. |
| CE hours | Not stated — no continuing-education requirement: the phrase continuing education does not appear, and no contact-hour count is given for any licence type. Renewal is referred out: licences are “renewed as prescribed in Section 54-1411, Idaho Code” (p. 6). |
What IDAPA 24.34.01 says
With no sedation provision, the chapter’s operative text for a sedation nurse is Subsection 200.01, the decision-making model: how “a licensed nurse evaluates whether a particular act is within the legal scope of that nurse’s practice” (p. 12). In the rule’s own framing, “a licensed nurse shall determine whether”: the act is expressly prohibited by the Nursing Practice Act or other laws, or limited to APRN or registered-nurse scope; it was taught in the nurse’s required curriculum and “the nurse possesses current clinical skills”; the third criterion, quoted below; and performance is within the accepted standard of care a reasonable and prudent nurse with similar education and experience would provide in a similar situation, the nurse being “prepared to accept the consequences of the act” (p. 12).
Criterion iii is where documented education comes in:
“The act is consistent with standards of practice published by a national specialty nursing organization or supported by recognized nursing literature or reputable published research and the nurse can document successful completion of additional education through an organized program of study including supervised clinical practice or equivalent demonstrated competency”
Subsection 200.01.a.iii (p. 12)
That is a self-assessment standard, not a permission slip: it does not authorise an Idaho nurse to administer sedation, and the chapter creates no sedation credential — the credentials it names are licensure credentials, not procedure credentials (pp. 5, 18). Its counterweight: the chapter’s definition of an “Organized Program of Study” includes “provisions for supervised clinical practice” (p. 4).
What an Idaho facility should be able to show
The chapter sets no sedation standard, so what you are measured against is your own policy plus whatever your facility’s licensing regulator requires — outside this page. Three records carry that weight:
- Your own moderate-sedation policy, dated and approved — who may administer, what is monitored and recorded, what equipment is at hand, and how the supervised clinical practice or demonstrated competency criterion iii names is validated. The chapter supplies none of it; it requires a delegating nurse to find the activities “consistent with job descriptions or policies of the practice setting” (p. 13).
- Per-nurse evidence of documented education for every RN who administers or monitors moderate sedation — the “successful completion of additional education” criterion iii asks a nurse to document (p. 12).
- Per-nurse evidence of ongoing competence, on an interval your own policy names — the chapter sets none, holding the nurse “responsible and accountable for their nursing judgments, actions and competence” (p. 14) without saying how often that is re-checked.
Record 2 is only half of criterion iii: it also names supervised clinical practice or equivalent demonstrated competency (p. 12), which no didactic course supplies — the hands-on sign-off is your facility’s to make.
The CSRN™ course — 10 CE contact hours developed and delivered by Capt. M. Ron Eslinger, CRNA, with module exams, case studies and a certificate ID your credentialing office can verify — is built to be records 2 and 3 on that list. Facility seats and roster tracking →
Questions Idaho facilities ask
Does Idaho set a renewal interval for sedation competency?
Not in the Board of Nursing’s rules. IDAPA 24.34.01 sets no interval for re-verifying any clinical skill. The recurring dates it sets for a nurse’s licence — August 31 for RNs and LPNs (p. 6), two years for APRNs (p. 9) — re-check no procedure.
Does Idaho require the CSRN™ course specifically?
No. The chapter requires no course of a licensed nurse for any particular procedure, and no state mandates this specific one. The training it names attaches to people who are not licensed nurses: a nurse apprentice’s “basic nursing fundamentals course” (p. 6), the “formal training program” by which technicians and technologists may be exempted from licensure (p. 6), and the “Board-approved training program” after which UAPs in care settings may assist patients with medications (p. 13).
If the Board publishes no sedation rule, what actually governs an Idaho RN giving moderate sedation?
Three things this chapter can speak to, none of them a sedation standard: licensure and title, reserved to those holding “a license or privilege to practice nursing in this state” (p. 5); the decision-making model, which leaves the scope determination to the nurse “regardless of practice setting” (p. 12); and your employer’s policy, where the drug, the monitoring, the staffing and the re-check are decided. On scope: this page reviews the Board of Nursing’s rule chapter only. Idaho’s other regulators — those licensing facilities, and those licensing other professions — publish their own rules, which this page neither reproduces nor characterises.
Compliance note (last reviewed September 2026): This page is educational information about IDAPA 24.34.01, Rules of the Idaho Board of Nursing, not legal advice or a compliance determination. Every quotation was checked word-for-word on 2026-09-02 against that PDF as published in the Idaho Administrative Code (adminrules.idaho.gov); page numbers refer to it. The chapter was read end to end and its full text searched for sedation, conscious, analgesia and propofol; none occur. Section numbers can move when a chapter is amended; confirm the current edition and your own facility policy before relying on this summary. No state mandates this specific course.