The CSRN™ program from Healthy Visions 10 CE contact hours on the certification course Approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing, Provider #CEP 17185 Certifying sedation nurses since 2015

State Compliance Guide

Moderate Sedation Requirements in Illinois

Illinois sets its RN moderate-sedation rule for one setting by statute rather than by a nursing-board opinion. Section 6.7 of the Ambulatory Surgical Treatment Center Act says what is required where “the ASTC policy allows the registered nurse to deliver moderate sedation” (§ 6.7(b)): two requirements on the nurse, three on the supervising practitioner, plus a dose limit set by rule. It speaks only of the ASTC; hospitals, offices and every other setting are not mentioned, and this page does not extend it to them. Everything below is quoted or paraphrased from the section, cited by subsection.

Illinois at a glance

Board State of Illinois (ASTC Act) — statute, not a nursing-board position statement or guideline. The only agency the section names is the Division of Professional Regulation of the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (§ 6.7(c)).
Document Ambulatory Surgical Treatment Center Act, 210 ILCS 5/6.7 — Sec. 6.7, “Registered nurse administration of limited levels of sedation or analgesia”, subsections (a) to (c), as published on ilga.gov; an HTML page with no page numbers, so citations here are by subsection.
Rule it is 210 ILCS 5/6.7 itself; it cites no rule number. Subsection (c) hands the Division two things: the definitions of local, minimal and moderate sedation, which “shall be defined by” it, and the dose limit on RN-administered moderate sedation, set “by rule” (§ 6.7(c)).
Status Statute, with the force of law, in mandatory language: “the following are required” (§ 6.7(b)), and each of the five items says “must”. Conditional — they attach only “If the ASTC policy allows the registered nurse to deliver moderate sedation”, and the section does not itself require an ASTC to allow it.
Dates Effective August 9, 2013. Source line: “(Source: P.A. 98-214, eff. 8-9-13.)” — the only date in the text and the only public act it lists. No adoption, revision or review dates appear.
Who it covers “a registered nurse” administering sedation in an ASTC on the order of a physician licensed to practice medicine in all its branches, a podiatric physician or a dentist (§ 6.7(a), (b)).
Who it does not cover Not addressed. The section names no other licensee: LPNs, APRNs and CRNAs are not mentioned, and the only nurse it speaks of is “a registered nurse”. Subsection (a) puts local and minimal sedation outside the (b) requirements: nothing in the Act precludes an RN from administering medications for “local or minimal sedation” ordered by the same three practitioner types (§ 6.7(a)).
Settings the document names The ASTC only — “the ASTC policy” (§ 6.7(b)), “clinical privileges at the ASTC” (§ 6.7(b)(3)), “on the premises” (§ 6.7(b)(4)). Hospitals, offices and every other setting: not mentioned.
Re-verification interval Not stated. The only currency requirement is that the nurse “maintain current” ACLS or PALS certification “as appropriate to the age of the patient” (§ 6.7(b)(2)); the supervising practitioner must do the same (§ 6.7(b)(5)). No interval for sedation education or competency appears, and no sedation course or renewal is named.
Where the record lives Not stated. The section names no record, file or documentation; the one document it refers to is “the ASTC policy” (§ 6.7(b)), whose permission triggers the five requirements.
CE hours Not stated. No contact-hour count, course or continuing-education requirement appears; the only credentials named are current ACLS or PALS certification, required of the nurse (§ 6.7(b)(2)) and of the supervising practitioner (§ 6.7(b)(5)).

What Section 6.7 of the ASTC Act says

The operative language is subsection (b): “If the ASTC policy allows the registered nurse to deliver moderate sedation ordered by a physician licensed to practice medicine in all its branches, podiatric physician, or dentist, the following are required” (§ 6.7(b)). Paraphrased, with the statute’s own words where they matter:

  1. The nurse must be “under the supervision of a physician licensed to practice medicine in all its branches, podiatric physician, or dentist during the delivery or monitoring of moderate sedation” and must “have no other responsibilities during the procedure” (§ 6.7(b)(1)).
  2. The nurse must maintain current ACLS or PALS certification, matched to the patient’s age (§ 6.7(b)(2)) — quoted in full below.
  3. The supervising practitioner must “have training and experience in delivering and monitoring moderate sedation and possess clinical privileges at the ASTC to administer moderate sedation or analgesia” (§ 6.7(b)(3)).
  4. The supervising practitioner must “remain physically present and available on the premises during the delivery of moderate sedation for diagnosis, consultation, and treatment of emergency medical conditions” (§ 6.7(b)(4)).
  5. The supervising practitioner must hold the same current ACLS or PALS certification “as appropriate to the age of the patient” (§ 6.7(b)(5)).

Subsection (a) leaves local and minimal sedation outside that list. Subsection (c) limits the nurse to moderate-sedation medications “at doses rapidly reversible pharmacologically as determined by rule” by the Division of Professional Regulation, and leaves the three sedation definitions to that same Division (§ 6.7(c)); the section names no drug and cites no rule number, so an Illinois ASTC needs the Division’s rule alongside the statute. The nurse’s own credential requirement is (b)(2):

“The registered nurse must maintain current Advanced Cardiac Life Support certification or Pediatric Advanced Life Support certification as appropriate to the age of the patient.”

State of Illinois (ASTC Act) — Ambulatory Surgical Treatment Center Act, 210 ILCS 5/6.7(b)(2)

Read the primary source →

What an Illinois ASTC should be able to show

Section 6.7 says what must be true, not what must be filed; these records would show each requirement is met:

  1. The ASTC policy, and the practitioner file behind it. The written policy that “allows the registered nurse to deliver moderate sedation” (§ 6.7(b)) switches the five requirements on. With it, per supervising practitioner: evidence of “training and experience in delivering and monitoring moderate sedation” and “clinical privileges at the ASTC” (§ 6.7(b)(3)), and current ACLS or PALS (§ 6.7(b)(5)); and per case, a record showing the practitioner on the premises and the sedation nurse with no other assignment (§ 6.7(b)(1), (b)(4)).
  2. Per-nurse current ACLS or PALS certification, matched to the ages of the patients that nurse sedates (§ 6.7(b)(2)) — the one credential the section requires of the nurse.
  3. Per-nurse sedation education and competency evidence, as your ASTC policy defines it. Section 6.7 names no sedation course, competency standard or renewal interval for the nurse; what the ASTC’s own policy asks beyond ACLS or PALS — and the record that proves it — is the ASTC’s to define.

The CSRN™ course — 10 CE contact hours developed and delivered by Capt. M. Ron Eslinger, CRNA, with module exams, case studies and a certificate ID your credentialing office can verify — is built to be record 3 on that list. Facility seats and roster tracking →

Questions Illinois facilities ask

Does Illinois set a renewal interval for sedation competency?

No. The only currency word in Section 6.7 is “current”, and it attaches to ACLS or PALS certification — the nurse’s (§ 6.7(b)(2)) and the supervising practitioner’s (§ 6.7(b)(5)). The section sets no interval for sedation education or competency and names no sedation course. The interval you write into your ASTC policy is your own; a certificate with an expiry date makes it visible on the roster.

Does Illinois require the CSRN™ course specifically?

No. Section 6.7 requires no particular course, and no state mandates this specific one. The only certifications it names are ACLS and PALS (§ 6.7(b)(2)), and its only training words are the supervising practitioner’s (§ 6.7(b)(3)). The “ASTC policy” (§ 6.7(b)) is where a center states its own expectation, and CSRN™ is designed to serve as the evidence behind it — a named credential, assessed competency and an employer-verifiable certificate ID.

Does Section 6.7 apply outside an ambulatory surgical treatment center?

Not on its own terms. Every trigger in the section is the ASTC’s — “the ASTC policy” (§ 6.7(b)), “clinical privileges at the ASTC” (§ 6.7(b)(3)), “on the premises” (§ 6.7(b)(4)) — and subsection (a) speaks of “this Act”, the ASTC Act. Hospitals, physician and dental offices and every other setting are not mentioned, and this page does not extend the section to them; what governs RN sedation in Illinois outside an ASTC is outside this document.


Compliance note (last reviewed September 2026): This page is educational information about Section 6.7 of the Illinois Ambulatory Surgical Treatment Center Act (210 ILCS 5/6.7), not legal advice or a compliance determination. Every quotation was checked word-for-word against the section as published on ilga.gov on 2026-09-01; the section’s source line shows a single public act, P.A. 98-214, effective August 9, 2013, and the ilga.gov page carried no amendment notice on that date. The section leaves the definitions of local, minimal and moderate sedation to the Division of Professional Regulation, and the dose limit to that Division by rule; confirm both, the current statute text and your own ASTC policy before relying on this summary. No state mandates this specific course.

← Moderate sedation requirements, state by state

More state guides

Indiana · Iowa · Kentucky · All states →

Get your team’s competency documented

Tell us your headcount and timeline — we’ll send exact pricing within one business day.

Request a Quote

Certifying yourself? Enroll — $279.99 Renew — $249.95