This review found no sedation document from the Iowa Board of Nursing — no rule, no position statement, no advisory opinion, no declaratory order. Its practice rules, IAC 481—Chapter 620, run ten pages and use the word sedation not once; nor does Iowa Code chapter 152, the statute they implement. The silence is the finding, and it is not an absence of duty: ch. 620 is a binding rule, and one subrule reaches a sedation case without naming it, requiring the registered nurse to obtain education and ensure competence in unfamiliar care situations (p. 2).
Iowa at a glance
| Board | Iowa Board of Nursing; its rules sit in Iowa Administrative Code agency 481, the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing. No sedation-specific Board document was found — the compliance note below lists what was checked. |
| Document | With none, this guide is built on the general practice chapter: IAC 481—Chapter 620, Nursing Practice for Registered Nurses/Licensed Practical Nurses — 10 pages, edition stamp “IAC 6/11/25”, header “[Prior to 6/11/25, see Nursing Board[655] Ch 6]” (p. 1). |
| Rule it is | It is the rule — four rules: 620.1 definitions, 620.2 RN standards, 620.3 LPN standards, 620.4 telehealth, none of them about sedation. Rule 620.2 states that it implements Iowa Code section 147A.12 and chapters 136C and 152 (p. 4). |
| Status | Binding, not advisory. It commands in shall — “The registered nurse shall not delegate the following intravenous therapy procedures to a licensed practical nurse” (p. 3) — and carries a sunset: “Chapter rescission date pursuant to Iowa Code section 17A.7: 6/4/30” (p. 1). |
| Dates | Adopted as ARC 9163C, IAB 4/30/25, effective 6/4/25 (p. 9); renumbered from Nursing Board[655] ch. 6 by editorial change at IAC Supplement 6/11/25, which is also the last entry in the chapter’s history (p. 10). |
| Who it covers | Registered nurses and licensed practical nurses; the chapter defines a licensee as either (p. 1). Coverage turns on the license, not on a procedure or a drug, though the chapter does name procedures and drugs in its intravenous-therapy delegation and scope lists. |
| Who it does not cover | No sedation-related exclusion is stated, because sedation is not addressed. The RN’s scope stops short of practices requiring an advanced registered nurse practitioner’s knowledge and education (p. 2). CRNAs are not mentioned anywhere in the chapter; its single anesthesia word is “local anesthetic”, in a dialysis subrule (p. 6). |
| Settings the document names | Several, none in a sedation context: LPN intravenous therapy is fenced to “a licensed hospital, a nursing facility and a certified end-stage renal dialysis unit” (p. 3); the operating room and an ambulance service appear in 620.2(9) (p. 4), acute care and six non-acute settings in the LPN rules (p. 7). No endoscopy suite, procedure room, ambulatory surgery center or office is named. |
| Re-verification interval | Not stated — the chapter sets no interval for re-checking competence in any task, and its competence language conditions taking the situation on, not a periodic check. The deadlines it does contain are LPNs’ one-off completion dates, such as a supervisory course “within 90 days of employment in a supervisory role” (p. 8). |
| Where the record lives | Not stated for a competency or training record. Ch. 620 does put documentation duties on the registered nurse — “Documenting nursing care accurately, thoroughly, and in a timely manner.” (p. 2) — but those are records of the care given, and the chapter never says where a nurse’s own education, training or competency record is kept. Where it does name a holder for a training record the item is an LPN’s: the expanded intravenous therapy course record is kept by the LPN and employer (p. 8). The Board’s RN/LPN Role & Scope page — guidance, not a rule, and not quoted here — points to the nurse’s personnel file. |
| CE hours | None stated in ch. 620, and no contact-hour count appears in it. Ch. 620 is a practice-standards chapter, not Iowa’s nursing continuing-education chapter: the Board’s 6/11/25 renumbering index shows continuing education transferred to 481—Chapter 619, which was not read for this page. Nothing here says an Iowa nurse has no license-renewal CE obligation. |
What ch. 620 asks of an Iowa registered nurse
Rule 620.2 speaks to the registered nurse in general terms: professionalism includes “Maintaining competence through ongoing learning, application of knowledge, and applying evidence-based practices.” (p. 2) — a duty that reaches a sedation case because it reaches every case. Competence is defined per function, “having sufficient knowledge, judgment, and skill to perform a specific function” (p. 1), and one subrule turns that definition into a duty:
“Obtaining education and ensuring competence when encountering new equipment, technology, medication, procedures or any other unfamiliar care situations.”
Iowa Administrative Code 481—620.2(3), paragraph g (IAC 6/11/25 edition, p. 2)
What an Iowa facility should be able to show
Because the Board of Nursing sets no sedation standard, the standard you are measured against is your own policy — and, in a licensed hospital, the anesthesia-services policy IAC 481—51.19 requires your medical staff to approve. Iowa is not silent about sedation everywhere: the Dental Board’s permit chapters (IAC 481—570, 572, 579) carry that language for dentists, not nurses. Neither is nursing-board authority, and neither is quoted here. Three records carry the weight:
- Your own moderate-sedation policy, dated and approved — supplying what ch. 620 does not: who may administer, under whose order, what is monitored, what equipment is at hand and what is recorded.
- Per-nurse evidence of initial education and training in moderate sedation for every RN who administers or monitors it — paragraph g of 620.2(3) requires education and competence for unfamiliar care situations (p. 2) without saying what proves either.
- Per-nurse evidence of ongoing competence, on an interval your own policy names — ch. 620 names none, for this or for any other task.
The CSRN™ course — 10 CE contact hours developed and delivered by Capt. M. Ron Eslinger, CRNA, with module exams, case studies and a certificate ID your credentialing office can verify — is built to be records 2 and 3 on that list. Facility seats and roster tracking →
Questions Iowa facilities ask
Does the Iowa Board of Nursing set a renewal interval for sedation competency?
No. Ch. 620 sets no interval for re-verifying competence in any task, and it does not mention sedation at all, so there is no board-set clock for your roster. The interval you write into your policy is your own; a certificate with an expiry date makes it visible on the roster.
Does Iowa require the CSRN™ course specifically?
No. Ch. 620 requires no sedation course of a registered nurse, because it does not address sedation — and no state mandates this specific one. The only courses it names are for licensed practical nurses (p. 8). What it does require is education and competence for unfamiliar care situations (p. 2); CSRN™ is designed to be that evidence for moderate sedation, in a form a credentialing office can check.
If the Board publishes nothing on sedation, what governs an Iowa RN who sedates?
Four things, none of them a sedation standard: the chapter’s general nursing-process duties; the order — “Receiving a physician’s, ARNP’s, or other health care provider’s orders” (p. 2); the nurse’s own competence, which 620.2(1) makes scope turn on and paragraph g of 620.2(3) attaches a duty to (p. 2); and your employer’s policy, where every particular the Board leaves open — drug, monitoring, staffing, training, re-check — is actually decided. That puts the competency judgment on the nurse and the institution.
Compliance note (last reviewed September 2026): Educational information about IAC 481—Chapter 620, not legal advice or a compliance determination. Every quotation was checked word-for-word on 2026-09-02 against the legis.iowa.gov PDF of ch. 620; page numbers here refer to its 10 pages. Re-downloaded that day from the official IAC edition dated 09/02/2026, it was byte-identical (SHA-256 beginning bf89de93) to the copy quoted here, and its only edition stamp is IAC 6/11/25. The finding that the Board publishes no sedation-specific rule, position statement, advisory opinion or declaratory order rests on ch. 620 and Iowa Code chapter 152 — the word sedation occurs in neither — and on three Board pages read the same day (Nursing Practice and every item it links, RN/LPN Role & Scope, Nursing Resources), none of which uses the word or lists a position statement, advisory opinion or declaratory order. Statements about the Dental Board’s IAC 481—570, 572 and 579 and hospital-licensing 481—Chapter 51 are paraphrased from those chapters, read the same day; neither is nursing-board authority. The CE row’s 481—Chapter 619 reference comes from the Board’s 6/11/25 chapter-transfer index; that chapter was not read, and no hour count is asserted. Confirm the current edition and your own facility policy before relying on this summary. No state mandates this specific course.