The CSRN™ program from Healthy Visions 10 CE contact hours on the certification course Approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing, Provider #CEP 17185 Certifying sedation nurses since 2015

State Compliance Guide

Moderate Sedation Requirements in West Virginia

The document this page cites for West Virginia is a legislative rule, not a sedation-specific position statement. Title 19, Series 10 of the Code of State Rules establishes standards of safe practice for the registered professional nurse and guides the board in evaluating nursing care (§ 19-10-1.1). It does not mention moderate sedation at all, nor any named drug, monitoring device or life-support certification: what it gives a facility is the general competence, training and monitoring standard every West Virginia RN practices under. Everything below is quoted or paraphrased from the rule, cited by section number, so you can check it against the source.

West Virginia at a glance

Board West Virginia Board of Examiners for Registered Professional Nurses (the WV RN Board)
Document Legislative Rule, Title 19, Series 10 — Standards for Scope of Professional Nursing Practice (W. Va. Code R. § 19-10-1 to § 19-10-3), filed and effective April 10, 2019. Three sections, no page numbers; citations on this page are to section numbers.
Rule it is It is the rule itself: § 19-10-1 (scope, authority, dates), § 19-10-2 (standards of practice) and § 19-10-3 (duties written with ‘shall’). Authority: W. Va. Code § 30-7-4 (§ 19-10-1.2). It points to the scope of practice in W. Va. Code § 30-7-1 et seq. (§ 19-10-2.1.1, § 19-10-3.17) and, for advanced practice, to 19 WV CSR 7 (§ 19-10-3.17).
Status A legislative rule, not an advisory statement. It “establishes standards of safe practice for the registered professional nurse, and serves as a guide for the board in evaluating nursing care” (§ 19-10-1.1), and it “will terminate and have no further force or effect upon April 10, 2029” (§ 19-10-1.5). Section 3 is mandatory in form: all 17 of its duties are written with ‘shall’ (§ 19-10-3.1 to 3.17). Section 2 states its standards in the indicative (“Maintains competence through ongoing learning”, § 19-10-2.1.5); its one ‘shall’ is the delegation test at § 19-10-2.4.2.
Dates Filing date April 10, 2019 (§ 19-10-1.3) · effective date April 10, 2019 (§ 19-10-1.4) · sunset April 10, 2029 (§ 19-10-1.5). No revision or review dates are stated.
Who it covers “the registered professional nurse” (§ 19-10-1.1) — the RPN (§ 19-10-2.2.16) and the RN (§ 19-10-2.4) elsewhere in the rule; § 19-10-3.17 adds the registered professional nurse “assuming advanced practice”.
Who it does not cover Not stated as an exclusion. LPNs and unlicensed assistive personnel (UAP) appear only as people an RN may assign or delegate to (§ 19-10-2.4.1, § 19-10-2.4.2); no one is excluded from any procedure by name.
Settings the document names None by type — no hospital, surgery center or office is named. The rule speaks of “the employment setting” (§ 19-10-3.7), “written facility policy or procedure” (§ 19-10-2.4.2.6) and “the care environment” (§ 19-10-2.4.10).
Re-verification interval None stated. The standard is that the RN “Maintains competence through ongoing learning and application of knowledge” (§ 19-10-2.1.5); no cycle, interval or renewal is attached to it.
Where the record lives Not stated. The RN “Documents nursing care” (§ 19-10-2.2.13) and, when delegating, “assures documentation of the activity” (§ 19-10-2.4.5), but the rule does not say where evidence of a nurse’s training or competence is kept.
CE hours Not stated. No contact-hour count and no continuing-education requirement appears in this rule; “ongoing learning” (§ 19-10-2.1.5) is not quantified.

What the West Virginia RN Board’s rule says

The rule is a list of standards, not a narrative. The ones a facility educator will reach for: the registered professional nurse “Obtains orientation/training for competence when encountering new equipment and technology or unfamiliar care situations” (§ 19-10-2.2.8), “Demonstrates attentiveness and provides patient surveillance and monitoring” (§ 19-10-2.2.9), identifies changes in the patient’s health status and comprehends clinical implications “as part of expected and unexpected patient course or emergent situation” (§ 19-10-2.2.10), and “Documents nursing care” (§ 19-10-2.2.13). Section 3 restates the core duties as mandates: “The registered professional nurse shall accept responsibility for his or her individual nursing actions and competence” (§ 19-10-3.2) and “shall obtain instruction and supervision as necessary when implementing nursing techniques or practices” (§ 19-10-3.3). The line this page is about sits among the standards of professional accountability:

“Maintains competence through ongoing learning and application of knowledge in registered professional nursing practice.”

West Virginia Board of Examiners for Registered Professional Nurses — W. Va. Code R. § 19-10-2.1.5 (filed and effective April 10, 2019)

Read the primary source →

Lines the rule draws — and the one it does not

Sedation, anesthetic agents, monitoring equipment, ACLS

Not addressed. The rule does not mention moderate sedation, anesthesia, any sedative or anesthetic drug, any monitoring device, or ACLS or PALS. Its closest line is general: the RN “Implements treatment and therapy, including medication administration and delegated medical and independent nursing functions” (§ 19-10-2.2.7). Which drugs an RN may give, at what doses and with what monitoring is not something this rule decides.

LPNs

The rule excludes no one from anything by name. It addresses LPNs once, as nurses an RN may assign care to. Paraphrased, § 19-10-2.4.1: the RN assigns to another nurse only measures within that nurse’s “scope of practice, education, experience and competence”, assigns to an LPN only care “within the LPN scope of practice” based on the RN’s own assessment of the patient and of the LPN’s ability, and keeps “monitoring and evaluating the care assigned to an LPN”. Whether an LPN may administer or monitor sedation is not stated.

What a West Virginia facility should be able to show

Because the rule is general, the records it implies are general too — three a West Virginia facility should be able to produce:

  1. A written policy for the employment setting that says what competence means for the procedures you run and how often it is re-checked. The rule sets no interval and names no setting; it does make every RN a contributor to “the objectives and policies related to nursing practice within the employment setting” (§ 19-10-3.7).
  2. Per-nurse evidence of ongoing learning — the education record behind “Maintains competence through ongoing learning and application of knowledge” (§ 19-10-2.1.5) and the RN’s duty to “accept responsibility for his or her individual nursing actions and competence” (§ 19-10-3.2).
  3. Per-nurse evidence of orientation and training for “new equipment and technology or unfamiliar care situations” (§ 19-10-2.2.8), and of the “instruction and supervision as necessary” an RN obtains “when implementing nursing techniques or practices” (§ 19-10-3.3).

The CSRN™ course — 10 CE contact hours developed and delivered by Capt. M. Ron Eslinger, CRNA, with module exams, case studies and a certificate ID your credentialing office can verify — is built to be records 2 and 3 on that list. Facility seats and roster tracking →

Questions West Virginia facilities ask

Does West Virginia’s rule mention moderate sedation?

No. The words sedation, anesthesia and propofol do not appear in Title 19, Series 10. What it asks of every registered professional nurse is general — “Maintains competence through ongoing learning” (§ 19-10-2.1.5), “Obtains orientation/training for competence” in “unfamiliar care situations” (§ 19-10-2.2.8) and “provides patient surveillance and monitoring” (§ 19-10-2.2.9). How those standards apply to a sedation roster is not something the rule spells out.

Does West Virginia set a renewal interval for sedation competency?

No. The rule asks that competence be maintained “through ongoing learning and application of knowledge” (§ 19-10-2.1.5) and that the RN “obtain instruction and supervision as necessary” (§ 19-10-3.3); it names no interval, cycle or hour count. The only dates in the rule are its own — filed and effective April 10, 2019, sunset April 10, 2029 (§ 19-10-1.3 to 1.5). The interval you write into your policy is your own; a certificate with an expiry date makes it visible on the roster.

Does West Virginia require the CSRN™ course specifically?

No. The rule names no course, and no state mandates this specific one. It asks the RN to “accept responsibility for his or her individual nursing actions and competence” (§ 19-10-3.2) and to maintain that competence “through ongoing learning” (§ 19-10-2.1.5), without saying what evidence of either looks like. CSRN™ is designed to serve as that evidence — a named credential, assessed competency and an employer-verifiable certificate ID.


Compliance note (last reviewed September 2026): This page is educational information about West Virginia Legislative Rule Title 19, Series 10 (W. Va. Code R. § 19-10-1 to § 19-10-3), not legal advice or a compliance determination. Every quotation was checked word-for-word on 2026-09-01 against the Legal Information Institute’s copy of the rule as filed April 10, 2019; the primary source is the Secretary of State’s Code of State Rules viewer, which serves the rule as a scanned PDF. The rule contains no sedation-specific language; confirm the current rule, any Board guidance issued since, and your own facility policy before relying on this summary. No state mandates this specific course.

← Moderate sedation requirements, state by state

More state guides

Ohio · Virginia · Kentucky · All states →

Get your team’s competency documented

Tell us your headcount and timeline — we’ll send exact pricing within one business day.

Request a Quote

Certifying yourself? Enroll — $279.99 Renew — $249.95